Top of page.

City of Wolverhampton Liberal Democrats

We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off

All-Party Group for Electoral Reform launched

February 13, 2021 10:29 AM
By Bryan Lewis

MPs have launched a fresh effort to reform Westminster's undemocratic voting laws, with a new all-party group pushing for change.

It was launched on Thursday 11th February and its goal is to bring together MPs and peers to 'secure policy change for greater democracy in the voting system and process, to champion accountability and the voice of voters'.

The Chair is Labour MP Alex Sobel and the Secretary is Liberal Democrat MP Wera Hobhouse and Make Votes countmembers come from the Conservative, Labour, SNP, Liberal Democrats and Green parties.

At a virtual meeting, members agreed to investigate options for Lords reform, electoral reform at all levels, moving to a more proportional voting system for the Commons, and voting rights in the May elections.

For too long Westminster's outdated structures have held our country back, from our warped voting system, to an unelected and archaic House of Lords. Today we have a political system that leave millions feeling powerless and ignored.